Sugarhill Gang / Grandmaster Melle Mel & Scorpio

In 2019, the Sugarhill Gang, one of Hip Hop’s legendary groups, will be celebrating the 40th anniversary of their hit “Rapper’s Delight.” Released on Sugarhill Records, the song was produced by Sylvia Robinson and featured songwriting from Nile Rogers and Bernard Edwards. It was the first rap single to become a Top 40 hit on the Billboard Hot 100 and is RIAA certified 2x Platinum. The song became an international hit (in the USA, UK, Canada, France, Germany, Sweden, and Switzerland to name a few), and has been featured on prime time TV, commercials, and in movies (as well as the lyrics sampled by various artists).

“We are very excited to celebrate the 40th anniversary of “Rapper’s Delight.” As an iconic and global success, it stands as a true testament of the power of hip hop music,” states Hen Dogg. “To see the crowds of people, generation after generation sing this song and to be able to perform this song all over the world is a blessing.”

To commemorate this Anniversary milestone, the Sugarhill Gang – along with the architects Grandmaster Melle Mel and Scorpio of The Furious 5 – have joined forces to form this supergroup (encompassing the major hits recorded by both while both were labelmates on the same label – SugarHill Records imprint).

Grandmaster Melle Mel and Scorpio (along with group members The Creole Kidd, Keith Cowboy, and Rahiem) created some of the most iconic songs including the platinum-selling classic “The Message”, which became the first Hip Hop record inducted into the Grammy Hall of Fame and the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame, as well as the famous anti-drug song “White Lines (Don’t Don’t Do It).” “White Lines” was also covered by Duran Duran in 1995 and peaked at number five on the Billboard Hot Dance Club Play chart.

“This is history in the making. We’ve seen the evolution of Hip Hop and rap go from a place where there was a lot of naysayers to it being a full-blown respected genre taking over pop culture. This is amazing!” states Scorpio of The Furious 5. “To be successful doing what we love and now joining together to continue to make history is a blessing.”

More About the Sugarhill Gang:
The Sugarhill Gang originally consisted of original members Wonder Mike (Michael Wright), Master Gee (Guy O’Brien) and Henry Jackson (Big Bank Hank, rest in peace) who helped to put hip hop and rap on the map.

In 1979, the group burst onto the scene with the global hit “Rapper’s Delight” which went on to top charts all over the world and sold over eight million copies with such monster hits as “Apache,” “8th Wonder” and “Living in the Fast Lane.” Wonder Mike and Master Gee later went on and teamed up with Henry Williams (Hendogg) and DJ T. Dynasty, both of whom have performed with the group for 20 years and counting, creating new music, while still pleasing crowds with their Greatest Hits.

In 2009, they released their first song in 25 years with international DJ phenom Bob Sinclair called “LaLa Song,” which quickly became an uber-hit overseas, securing Song of the Year for many European countries, including Italy. Wonder Mike, Master Gee, Hen Dogg and DJ T. Dynasty continue their tradition of creating a party atmosphere that makes everyone dance the night away as they perform for sold out crowds throughout the world.

More About Grandmaster Melle Mel & Scorpio Furious 5:
Grandmaster Melle Mel and Scorpio are two of the original members of the iconic hip hop group Grandmaster Flash & the Furious Five. Composed of one DJ (Grandmaster Flash) and five rappers (Melle Mel, The Kidd Creole, Keef Cowboy, Mr. Ness/Scorpio, and Rahiem), the group’s use of turntablism, break-beat deejaying, and conscious lyricism was significant in the early development of hip hop music. The group formed in 1976 and signed to SugarHill Records shortly after, where they rose to prominence (and released several major Intl. hits including “The Message,” “White Lines,” and a host of others) until the group officially disbanded late 80’s, and then became Grandmaster Melle Mel & the Furious Five. The group has reunited several times in past, but the legacy continues on currently with only Grandmaster Melle Mel and Scorpio at the helm.

April 28, 2019

Doors 6pm. Headliners 9:00pm.

$28 / $38 / $48 / $58 / $68 + applicable fees

If you purchase a ticket at a table you are required to purchase dinner. Minimum spend is $25.00 per person. You must arrive by 7pm.

Under 18 Must Be Accompanied by a Paying Adult.